New York Red Bulls Announce Protected Players List Ahead of MLS Expansion Draft

New York Red Bulls Announce Protected Players List Ahead of MLS Expansion Draft

HARRISON, N.J. (December 14, 2020) – The New York Red Bulls have protected 12 players ahead of tomorrow’s MLS Expansion Draft for Austin FC.

Per MLS Expansion Draft rules, each club is allowed to protect up to 12 players. New York will have three additional players from the current roster automatically protected.

New York will protect defenders Kyle Duncan, Aaron Long, and Tim Parker, midfielders Cristian Casseres Jr., Sean Davis, Kaku, Florian Valot, Daniel Royer and Dru Yearwood, and forwards Tom Barlow, Mathias Jorgensen and Brian White.

Three Homegrown players that occupy Supplemental roster spots, defender John Tolkin, along with midfielders Caden Clark and Omir Fernandez are automatically protected.

Recently-signed goalkeeper Luca Lewis will be added to the roster in 2021, and will not be available for selection.

RBNY players available for selection:
GK: David Jensen, Ryan Meara
Defenders: Mandela Egbo, Sean Nealis, Jason Pendant, Amro Tarek
Midfielders: Jared Stroud

Five players who were with RBNY in 2020, Chris Lema, Kendall McIntosh, Marc Rzatkowski, Patrick Seagrist and Samuel Tetteh, are also available for selection in Tuesday’s expansion draft.
 The 2020 MLS Expansion Draft will take place tomorrow, Tuesday, December 15 at 6 p.m. ET, and will be streamed live on MLSsoccer.comMLS AppFacebookTwitter, and YouTube.
For more information and full rules for Tuesday’s expansion draft, visit the Expansion Draft Rules and Procedures page on

New York Red Bulls, 600 Cape May Street, Harrison NJ 07029 ‌  ‌  ‌